Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


You know it’s coming

Posted in Uncategorized by stuffsoup on February 20, 2010

There is one person I was “waiting” to share my 30-day-vegan-cleanse experience with. I was hoping to get to day 20 or so before having to explain much, but I know now that is not realistic. Last night the question… why are there 2 pans for tacos? Answer: one has black beans and doesn’t have meat. Tonight the question… why waffles? Answer: gluten, they are gluten-free. At that point, I knew enough to look away, but I forgot to plug my ears. I knew it was coming, but that still doesn’t make it fun. The big {{sigh}}. There should be a good way to type that sound… kind of a tsk-uuuh. Because I wasn’t looking, I can pretend there was no rolling of the eyes to accompany that sound – and hey, maybe there wasn’t.

And, it’s ok. Really, it is. I know I can be exasperating… I live with me too. Different people have different comfort levels with extremes. I went to a Parent Fair today and in one of the sessions about discipline, the speaker was trying to make the point about how important it is to have a plan. She said, “You have to know where you want to go. Who here would get on an airplane if they didn’t know where it was flying to?”. Inside, I was screaming, “Ooo, me, me!”. See, I don’t care so much about where the plane is going – I like adventure. Not everyone does and that has to be ok. It can be nice to have someone waiting when you land even if they don’t like jumping on “random” planes with you.

Day 2 – cookie swap

Breakfast – juice glass of rice milk, then granny smith apple wedges with organic peanut butter eaten in the car on the way to the Parent Fair (I promise the kids ate sitting down which gave me the time to get stuff together.)

Snack – at the Parent Fair, the snack choices were cookies from Great Harvest Bakery (which are so good!), bananas, and apples… so, I chose an apple, but it was too mushy to finish, so I was glad I had my back up Lara Bar in peanut butter cookie (so I kind of got my cookie anyway)

Lunch – leftover tostada (black bean, brown rice, tomato, lettuce, corn tortilla) and a handful of carrot

Snack – handful of cashews and carrots

Dinner – 2 gluten-free waffles, drizzle of agave, and pile of berries with a cup of chocolate almond milk

The good. The berries I used were whole frozen and I put them in the microwave for a bit to thaw and that drew out some of the juice which worked great on the waffles. I didn’t even need the agave.

The bad. I was hoping to partake of some snack at the Parent Fair, but that apple was just too mushy.

The ugly. There were a lot of temptations today. I wanted to eat cookies – or at least just stick my nose over that plate and inhale deeply. Thankfully, I was able to refrain from doing that! I also made one of the best lookin’ batches of pancakes ever (that was the family’s request for dinner tonight) and they were hard to pass up.

Knowing that I made it through at least part of the discussion I was not looking forward to and knowing that I made it past some yummy-looking temptations has given me hope for tomorrow… now I better go plan some more. Keep the ideas and comments coming!

3 Responses to 'You know it’s coming'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'You know it’s coming'.


  1. Awesome Michele! You are such a great writer! Right from the heart. Love that. Thanks for sharing again. I will look forward to reading these each day!

  2. Kim said,

    mmmmm – peanut butter!
    mmmmm – nuts!
    mmmmm – Great Harvest Bakery!

    What’s almond milk taste like? Sounds yummy.

    I hope that one person isn’t causing you too much grief. I imagine you might be feeling fabulously healthy in about a week or two and so then maybe you will mind less what that person thinks.

    When you’re feeling tempted by certain foods, try reminding yourself how good it feels to be doing this cleanse and why you wanted to do it in the first place. (It also works for me to remind myself of how hard I’ve worked so far in making good food decisions.)

  3. Kim said,

    Here’s a yummy little snack:

    Corn and Black-Bean Lettuce Bundles

    19-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
    1/2 cup corn kernels
    1/2 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
    4 scallions, sliced
    1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
    2 T lime juice
    2 t olive oil
    1 t ground cumin
    1 garlic clove, minced
    1/2 t salt
    1 head Boston lettuce, cleaned and separated into leaves

    Combine all ingredients except lettuce in a bowl and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Spoon about 1/3 cup of bean mixture onto lettuce leaf and fold like a taco or burrito.

    Note: I think Boston lettuce is butter lettuce.

    I’ll send some more recipes I found by email tomorrow. Keep blogging!


Leave a Reply

