Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Some plans come together

Posted in Uncategorized by stuffsoup on February 21, 2010

When I first agreed to do this 30-day-vegan cleanse, I thought I could just try to eat granny smith apples and carrots for 30 days. (Apparently granny smith apples have less sugar than other apples and therefore are the favored ones for the cleanse.) Then, I spent hours in a couple of “good” grocery stores and thought there really are so many things I’d like to try and this seemed like a good excuse to do it. So, I hit the recipes and started grabbing things off of the shelves.

It is all fine to have good ingredients, but at some point they have to get together and be tasted. Today was a day for some of that. This morning while doing loads of laundry and keeping the kids entertained, I cooked what turned out to be a yummy black bean and sweet potato chili (recipe below) for dinner. It went well enough that I decided to try another recipe at lunchtime – yummy pad thai (recipe below). Since dinner was set for me, after the little one’s nap, the kids and I got to go play at Target free day at the Minnesota Children’s Museum with thousands of our newest best friends (I found out from a volunteer there that February and March are by far the busiest months).

Day 3 – recipe success

Breakfast – half cup of oatmeal with agave and almond milk (which is becoming a favorite)

Snack – granny smith apple and peanut butter (still a go-to item)

Lunch (after half an hour on the treadmill – bonus) – fabulous pad thai

Snack – half of a go.raw live “granola” bar and a few almonds

Dinner – black bean and sweet potato chili over brown rice

The good. The recipes, and here they are. (Note that big T means tablespoon and little t means teaspoon.)

Black Bean Sweet Potato Chili

2 T olive oil, 1 chopped red pepper, 1 medium diced onion, 4 cloves minced garlic, 2t sea salt, 1 large garnet yam cut into half inch cubes, zest and juice from 1 lime, 28 ounce can of fire-roasted crushed tomatoes, 3 cans of black beans, 1T cumin, 1T chili powder, 1t cocoa powder, and 1 cup chopped cilantro for garnish (optional)

In large pot, heat oil over medium heat and saute garlic, onion, red pepper and sea salt until soft (4-5 minutes). Add cumin and chili powder and stir to combine. Add chopped sweet potato and zest, cooking for about 10 minutes more stirring occasionally. Add tomatoes, black beans, lime juice, and cocoa powder. Bring to a simmer, cover, and cook for 10 minutes or until potatoes are soft. Top with chopped cilantro and a squeeze of lime, if desired. Serve over brown rice or corn bread.

[My modifications included adding the bit of extra peppers I had on hand along with the red pepper, using less salt and adding it late, using lemon instead of lime, and not waiting 10 minutes to cook the sweet potato before adding the other ingredients so they were just a bit firm and that was all good too.]

Pad Thai

Kelp, mung bean, or rice noodles (I used rice sticks from Trader Joe’s) prepared as directed. Then, in a magic bullet mixer (or Cooks mixer which is what I have) add 1/3 cup water, 2T almond butter (or I used peanut butter), 1/3 cup coconut oil, 1T Bragg or other soy sauce, 1t coriander, 1/2 of a red jalapeno pepper or less green (I just threw in some of the red pepper I had – not as hot, but still good), and 2t lemon juice. Mix until blended and pour over noodles when done. Then add in 1/2 cup fresh basil (which I skipped because I didn’t have any) and 1/2 cup of fresh greens and toss all together.

The bad. I was not fond of the go.raw “granola” bar which is why I only ate half. I’ll finish it because I hate to waste and it wasn’t horrible or anything, but not my favorite.

The ugly. To be honest, I am not sure if it is the cleanse or not, but when my daughter woke at 4:37am, I still had a headache that had been coming and going throughout the day, so at 5:00am, I took a couple of ibuprofen and eventually went back to sleep. I awoke later with no headache, so all is well.

I have to say that I am grateful to all the cooks that experiment with putting ingredients together until they get something wonderful. I may not always follow to the letter and I do my own substitutions and twists, but I so appreciate the “backbone” from which to start. It was good to have a plan and some good recipes to put together today and I’m glad it left time for fun.

2 Responses to 'Some plans come together'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Some plans come together'.

  1. Kim said,

    Your meals sound great. Keep up the good work!

  2. stuffsoup said,

    I actually crave this pad thai… it’s a keeper!


Leave a Reply

