Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Newbie in Familiar Territory

Posted in Uncategorized by stuffsoup on February 25, 2010

I went to yoga again today. I’ve been having a hard time making peace with the fact that I don’t know this body that I am in very well. It is different, and not necessarily in a good way (see, that’s not making peace). The changes came from babies and other things like treats and lack of sleep and exercise and they came at a time that I wasn’t paying so much attention (I had babies to look at instead).

Yoga was in a different studio than usual, one with windows – and there was SUN. I hope I didn’t throw off the chi in the room too much, but I put my mat right in the sun beam, a bit askew from everyone else (maybe aligning with the sun improved the chi). I am not as strong, nor am I as flexible as I once was. That is hard for me. Yoga was familiar territory and I was making such progress, oh those years ago. I feel like I am starting over, a total newbie, but it feels worse because I know what I “should” be able to do. I know I’ll get through this, but it is hard.

Day 7 – old and new

Breakfast – 1/2 cup of oatmeal with agave and almond milk and hot water with lemon

After-workout snack – handful of almonds

Late lunch – hummus with carrot sticks, red pepper sticks, and 2 Trader Joe’s lightly salted rice cakes (nothing but brown rice and sea salt and these were really good!)

Dinner – leftover black bean chili (see recipe from day 3) with modified cornbread (also really good, see recipe below)

The good. Those rice cakes were not the way I remembered them from the 80s. They were so good spread with hummus.

The better. The cornbread turned out really tasty. The texture was a bit different, but I guess that is partly the way cornbread is. Here’s the recipe with my modifications in parentheses and I only made a half recipe.

Gluten-Free, Vegan Cornbread

One package of 365 Everyday Value Gluten Free Cornbread & Muffin Mix (I used Bob’s Red Mill’s version because that was what the store had), 1/4 cup agave nectar, 1 and 1/3 cups almond milk, 1/2 can unsweetened pumpkin or 1/2 very ripe banana smashed (I used banana), 6 T melted lactose, gluten-free butter (I used original earth balance natural buttery spread and it was really yummy and smelled just like butter), 1/2 t apple cider vinegar (I used plain), (I also added a bit of whole kernel corn for fun)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees and lightly grease a small pan or muffin pan. Add vinegar to the almond milk and set aside to curdle (not really noticeable). Add agave to pumpkin or banana and mix. Stir in melted butter, milk mixture, then the box of cornbread mix and stir to moisten. Pour into pan (My batter didn’t really pour and I think it is because Bob’s has enough mix for a 9 by 9 pan and 365 might be for an 8 by 8 pan). Bake until brown, 25 minutes for a square pan and 15-17 minutes for 12 muffins. Serve warm.

The best. During one of the many downward dog poses that I was having trouble holding, the yoga instructor came over and pulled back my hips. I am sure this is hard to imagine if you aren’t familiar with yoga poses. Suffice it to say, what she did relieved pressure on my wrists and arms and helped my legs get a glorious stretch.

I thanked the yoga instructor after class and asked if she would just follow me around whenever I did that pose and help out. She said that she was glad it helped and that she was glad I came. Just the right thing to say to keep me coming back. Oh, and there was one other thing I noticed about my body in yoga today… so if you’ll excuse me, I need to go remove some chipped toe-nail polish. 😉

4 Responses to 'Newbie in Familiar Territory'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Newbie in Familiar Territory'.

  1. julie said,

    This is a great blog. I love yoga, and if I had just a little more $$$, I would be doing it weekly here. Do you remember when I used to go to yoga in Barcelona? It was the best class I’ve ever taken. Have fun!

    I’m putting this feed on my aggregator, so I can get your updates as they come. xoxo, Julie

  2. valerie said,

    is that the i am not a waitress red nail polish? 🙂

  3. Kim said,

    I love it when the yoga instructor adjusts us like that. It’s fabulous. And I know exactly the adjustment you described! This week at yoga, my instructor did an adjustment that REALLY TICKLED! (It was on my ribs.) I almost jumped! One woman did jump and started giggling. It was pretty funny.

    I always notice my toes and their lack of polish or poor state of polish, too!! You’re not alone.


Leave a Reply

