Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


“How Are You Feeling?”

Posted in Uncategorized by stuffsoup on February 26, 2010

I’ve been getting asked about how I’m feeling quite a bit. I feel bad about the short answer which is “about the same”. That doesn’t much convey my enthusiasm for continuing. I’m a week into this 30-day vegan cleanse and I can tell you there have been a few side effects, but none so dramatic or even different than things I’d feel from time to time anyway. The second day, I had a headache off and on throughout the day, but 2 ibuprofen took care of it. A day or two after that, I was, er, um, constipated. And, another day I realized I was kind of bloated. But that has pretty much been it.

The positive effects haven’t been dramatic either. Feeling better is hard to measure and I cannot specifically credit only the cleanse for that. I have lost weight this week, 1.6% of my weight which doesn’t seem very dramatic either, but it is still a good thing. I have a check in with a trainer next Friday and I am very curious to see any changes there. (I’ll have to keep you posted.)

Day 8 – in color

Breakfast – gs apple with peanut butter (less what the kids ate of it) and hot water with lemon

After-workout snack – handful of almonds and a small bag of freeze-dried asian pear from Brothers-All-Natural fruit crisps

Lunch – corn and black bean lettuce bundles (see recipe below)

Snack – carrot sticks and hummus

Dinner – leftovers of black bean chili and cornbread

The good. A quick nap whilst helping my daughter fall asleep (she doesn’t normally nap, but really needed it today and I guess I did a bit too).

The better. I felt strong at my CRT (cardio resistance training) workout class today and happy to be moving down the scale.

The best. In case you missed the recipe in the comments section from an earlier post, here is the “burrito” recipe.

Corn and Black-Bean Lettuce Bundles

19-oz can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 cup corn kernels
1/2 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
4 scallions, sliced
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 T lime juice
2 t olive oil
1 t ground cumin
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 t salt
1 head Boston lettuce, cleaned and separated into leaves

Combine all ingredients except lettuce in a bowl and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Spoon about 1/3 cup of bean mixture onto lettuce leaf and fold like a taco or burrito. Note: I think Boston lettuce is butter lettuce.

Seems I’m always modifying, but my beans were only 15 ounces, I used a bit more corn and more red pepper, I used red onion instead of scallions, I used frozen cilantro, and I used lemon juice instead of lime (perhaps you can tell that I bought a lot of lemons and no limes as this has been a repeated theme — perhaps I should have done it the other way around). Anyway, this was really yummy and very colorful – thank you, Kim!

I think it is important to remember that all change, no matter the size, in the right direction is still good change. Remember what they say about the longest journey…

Leave a Reply

