Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Ah, girl scouts

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 2, 2010

I was a girl scout, and before that a brownie. And, apart from the crafts and camping and badges, I sold cookies. I remember a lady who told me once that she was going to buy extra boxes because I was walking door to door in the rain (I still love walking in the rain.). And there was that man who told me that I could sell ice to eskimos. I didn’t understand and so he tried to clarify by saying that he’d even buy a used car from me. Anyway, he bought cookies.

Selling girl-scout cookies is different now, moms or dads come along and sometimes, you can even buy them at the grocery store. As long as a girl scout comes to my door, however she gets there, rain or shine, I buy a box of cookies. I’ve already received delivery of 2 boxes and more is on the way. They sit here, teasing me. I smile at them periodically knowing that I will likely indulge after my 30-day vegan cleanse and so I’ll have the last “bite”.

Day 12 – whatcha got

Breakfast – cup of oatmeal with agave and almond milk

After-workout snack – handful of almonds

Lunch –Spanish “egg” on corn tortillas

Snack – watermelon

Dinner – chili ala TJ

The good. I left half a tortilla. I stepped away to help my son and when I came back to finish the last half of the second one, I realized I didn’t need any more. Seems silly, but it was a good thing for me.

The better. I did a class called total conditioning today and I felt strong working already sore muscles (kettlebell sticks with you!).

The best. Going for a short walk with kids all hand in hand and coming home and having my son announce happily “That was fun!”. I’m just so glad we went.

Kids watch. They learn. They see when you choose to support people that come to your door and when you choose not to. They see when you make healthy changes and make moving part of your day. I’m not perfect, but I hope my kids are learning mostly good.

Leave a Reply

