Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Ah, Sleep

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 6, 2010

“A new baby typically results in 400-750 hours lost sleep for parents in the first year.”* I wonder what the number is if children still wake for help with water or to go to the bathroom or just for a cuddle. And, more importantly, can a parent ever get caught up?

I’ve had it pretty good in that most nights, I don’t have to get up with the kids (though I often still hear them or think that I do). “Unfamiliar noise, and noise during the first and last two hours of sleep, has the the greatest disruptive effect on the sleep cycle.”* So, for nights like last night when they wake up every 20 minutes (staggered from each other, mind you) during the first hours I am trying to sleep, and I am the one to go to them, I really can get thrown off.

“Some studies suggest women need up to an hour’s extra sleep a night compared to men, and not getting it may be one reason women are much more susceptible to depression than men.”* It seems that many women get thrown off when not getting enough sleep. And, although, “Feeling tired can feel normal after a short time”, who wants that for their normal. I wonder if I should get a short, bright light since “Scientists have not been able to explain a 1998 study showing a bright light shone on the backs of the human knees can reset the brain’s sleep-wake clock.” Maybe my knees can help me get deeper into sleep.

Day 16 – homestretch

Late breakfast – gs apple with pb dip and a sample of apple juice (thanks Trader Joe’s)

Lunch – leftover “egg” wrapped in lettuce

Snack – banana bread Larabar and some dried apple

Dinner – leftover veggies and mock duck over brown rice

The good, the better, the best. I didn’t have to think too much about what to have today. There were things in the fridge and cupboard to have that made it easy. I didn’t sample the flat bread at Trader Joe’s, but my brother got to have 2 pieces instead and I could try the juice. So, it is all good.

Even with the early disruptions, what I got for sleep last night should have been enough, but I was still tired today. I guess last night was one of those catch-up nights and we can probably all use one of those now and again.

* Info from 40 amazing facts about sleep from the National Sleep Research Project at http://www.abc.net.au/science/sleep/facts.htm

One Response to 'Ah, Sleep'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Ah, Sleep'.

  1. Kim said,

    I’d like to know who first decided to try shining a light on the backs of people’s knees. And if it resets your sleep-wake clock, what does it reset it to?

    That’s cool that you got to hang out with your brother!


Leave a Reply

