Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


In a Mood

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 7, 2010

Do you ever find it difficult to shake a bad mood? Perhaps this post should refer back to yesterday’s post about sleep (or lack there of) or maybe if someone had taken the kids for a few hours so I wouldn’t have listened to them telling me “no” every time I asked them something, I could shake the mood. But, today has been tough. Really tough. And it makes me want candy. A lot of candy.

I stopped buying candy back in November of last year (except for that cadbury milk chocolate bar in January and I felt bad about that, but I ate the whole thing). I’ve had some when it was offered at a gathering or where ever, but I stopped buying it for myself about the same time I stopped buying soda (pop for the northerners). The thing I forgot about when I made this deal is… Easter. My goodness, Easter has the best candy options EVER. Cadbury mini milk chocolate eggs, Reese’s peanut butter eggs, cinnamon chews, and spicy jelly beans are just a few of my absolute favorites. I know every day without these things is a good step, but I think after this 30-day vegan cleanse, I will partake in some sugary goodness (or sugary badness, I guess). But, I hope I will want less of it than in the past. Maybe I’ll even taste it and decide it’s not for me anymore (though I have my doubts).

Day 17 – hanging

Breakfast – oatmeal with agave, almond milk, and berries

After-workout snack – almonds

Lunch – grapes, corn chips, and “summer” salsa

Dinner – leftover chili ala TJ with brown rice

The good, the better, the best. I like making “summer” salsa. All I do is start with a good salsa and add any fresh veggies that I have on hand and beans and corn and anything else that seems like a good fit. I have received many compliments on my various iterations and I like it a lot myself. I’m also glad for any day that I make it in for a workout. And, right now, I am glad the kids are asleep and the house is completely quiet.

I have read that chocolate stimulates the release of seratonin and endorphin which can lead to a relaxed or euphoric feeling and I know that when I have done a fast previously that sugar can give me a headache when I go back to it. Seems every coin has 2 sides. Do you have any love/hate relationships?

Leave a Reply

