Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Some Lentils Were Harmed

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 12, 2010

So, I mentioned in an earlier post that I wasn’t happy with how the lentil soup turned out. If I ever try it again, I will soak the lentils, not just rinse them even though the package claimed rinsing was all that was required. I (and the family after I doctored it up with smoked sausage, etc.) got through as much as was possible and I threw out the last bowl of it. I don’t like throwing out food, but I didn’t want to face eating it again and since they started out as a bag of dried lentils, I probably only lost 4 cents in the disposal. So, to move on.

But not really too far. As it turns out, sometimes consistency in a diet can be a good thing. According to Dawn Jackson Blatner, RD, a dietitian and spokeswoman for the American Dietetic Association, “We know that variety makes you eat more.” That is based on several studies as well as her own experience in counseling weight-loss patients. For example, researchers in France found that study participants ate more french fries when they were offered ketchup and mayonnaise along with them. I’m sure they just needed to keep trying them both ways to see which one they liked better. Other researchers discovered that people who have been able to maintain weight loss tend to eat diets with limited variety. So, I’ve found a few things that seem to work and today I went with those.

Day 22 – standbys

Breakfast – most of a gs apple with peanut-butter dip

After-workout snack – almonds and dried fruit

Lunch – hummus on rice cakes and snap peas

Dinner – yummy pad thai

Good, better, best. After a couple of days off, it was good to get back in the gym. Not just for my body, but also to feed my social craving. I really do like working out with someone else and I love to run into other friends while I am there, it feels good to know that others are on their own healthy journey. And, of course, I love to chat even when my heart rate gets too high to make that comfortable.

And, even though it might be good to limit variety and stick with the good stuff, I do love to mix things up sometimes too. That whole “spice of life” thing appeals to me. I love to try new things and I have some great new recipes that I am looking forward to trying, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

