Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Food Story

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 13, 2010

Today was more about food again. I was able to go shopping this morning at what turned out to be 3 stores (though I could have skipped one). I wanted to try some new things to see what else I might like and to get ready for the last week of this 30-day vegan cleanse by having things on hand and some ideas at the ready.

I’ve also been preparing for my children’s birthday party (they have birthdays less than a week apart) and that means home-made chocolate cake. I will miss eating that (or maybe I’ll freeze myself a piece for later). It was odd not to lick the spoon after mixing. I guess the dishwasher will get to enjoy that privilege tonight.

Day 23 – silver and gold

Breakfast – gs apple with pb dip

Snack – wedge of anjou pear (thanks, Costco) and Veggie Crunchers (dried sweet potatoes, squash, carrots, taro, and green beans)

Lunch – 1/4 sweet potato cut into strips baked with a little ev olive oil, pepper, and sea salt (otherwise known as sweet-potato fries) with nayonaise and a Rawma bar in pumpkin agave for dessert

Dinner – sichuan noodles with spaghetti squash and a random carrot stick

The good. The Veggie Crunchers by Amport Foods were good. So good, it made me wonder if my palate is changing. Hmm?

The better. For lunch, I wanted something “naughty” and the sweet-potato fries did the trick (and shh, don’t tell me, but they weren’t really naughty at all) and the Rawma Bar was tasty, though there is nothing I could even to compare it too. The bonus is that it had 9g of protein, so it was a pretty good “dessert”.

The best. I finally made spaghetti squash. I had been kind of intimidated by them and now I find that pretty amusing since it couldn’t really have been much easier to make… cut in half, put in shallow pan, put in 375 degree oven, and remove in about 30 minutes and scrap the “meat” out with a fork in noodle-like strands. And, the sichuan sauce was fantastic. I am quite happy to have extra sauce to put over rice noodles for a meal this week too. Here’s the recipe since you’ll want to try this (note: T means tablespoon).

Sichuan Noodles

3 T soy sauce (I used Bragg), 2 T expeller-pressed canola oil, 2 T finely chopped fresh garlic, 2 T finely chopped fresh ginger, 4 scallions plus 1/2 of the green stalk thinly sliced, 2 T peanut butter, 2 T Asian chili oil, 1 T brown sugar (I used instead a drizzle of agave), 1 cup chicken stock (instead I used Trader Joe’s organic vegetable stock)

Put oil in skillet and add garlic, ginger, and onion. Cook for 2 minutes. Add peanut butter, soy sauce, chili oil, brown sugar (or agave), and stock and whisk to combine. Cook for 5 minutes or until sauce is thickened and shiny. Pour sauce over “noodles” and toss.

As with all days, there were lots of food choices. Many samples were offered at the store and though I would normally partake in many of them, I only had the wedge of pear. Speaking of fruit samples, I realized that I forgot to mention that I had a slice of star fruit yesterday when I was cutting it to decorate cupcakes for my daughter to take to school. And, speaking of full reporting, I also forgot to mention the weekly percentage weight loss which for the week ended yesterday is another 1.0%. I guess better late than never, right?

2 Responses to 'Food Story'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Food Story'.

  1. Kim said,

    Where did you get the Veggie Crunchers? Those sound interesting!

    In regards to the chocolate cake: you are a rock! I’m impressed!

    My WW leader gave us an alternative to carrot sticks for a snack — cut up cucumber, jicama and oranges, mixed together. I tried it as finger food (sticks) using an English Cuke (which has minimal seeds), but it might work better chopped as a salad. She said the flavors complement each other and I think she’s right, except that my orange was yucky and kinda ruined the whole complementary thing.

    Good luck on your final week! Can you see the light at the end of the tunnel?!

  2. stuffsoup said,

    They have the Veggie Crunchers at Costco here. Maybe I’ll send you a bag. 🙂 I might just try that O-jica-cuke salad, though lately I’ve been missing my shaved cucumber in lemon juice with pepper and garlic so I may have to do that first if I get a good cuke. Thanks for the idea.


Leave a Reply

