Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


I Ate Chocolate Cake

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 14, 2010

Wait! Don’t panic. If you’ve been reading this blog since the beginning, I’m sure that title was a bit startling as it doesn’t seem to fit with my 30-day vegan cleanse, but you should know that it was “legal” chocolate cake. See recipe below. 🙂

My son and daughter had a combined birthday party today and I knew when I started this cleanse back in February that this would be a tough time, so I was so pleased to find Ani Phyo and her raw-foods recipes on youtube. Check her out, she’s got some good stuff.

Day 24 – chocolate, etc.

Breakfast – 2 gf waffles with agave and berries

Snack – bits of things I was preparing for the gathering including recipes below and fruit

Lunch – “summer” salsa with tortilla chips

Snack – oatmeal raisin cookie, chocolate cake with strawberries, and a few grapes

Dinner – black bean sweet potato chili over quinoa

The good. Oatmeal raisin cookies from Ani Phyo. I was so surprised that these tasted just like an oatmeal raisin cookie. I’d definitely remember the touch of cinnamon next time for further effect since I forgot it today. Here’s the recipe.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Oatmeal (she didn’t really give a quantity and I over shot, but it was fixable), 1/2 cup of medjool dates with pits and stems removed (plus the extra one since I overshot the oatmeal), and a pinch of cinnamon all mixed by hand in a bowl. It gets kind of stick-together-y. Then, add 1/2 cup raisins (I just put in enough to “look right”) and form balls or cookies. That’s it – amazing, eh?

The better. Real vegan, gluten-free, sugar-free chocolate cake. It was so decadent. It kind of reminded me of a truffle. I thought it was best with berries and I think I’ll serve the rest with more berry. Here’s the recipe.

Raspberry Ganache Fudge Cake

3 cups dried organic “naked” walnuts, 2/3 cup cacao powder (I used cocoa powder), and 1/4 teaspoon sea salt all blended in a food processor or blender. Add 1 cup medjool dates with pits and stems removed. Form it into whatever shape you like, frost (see below), and serve with raspberries (or strawberries if the store sells out of raspberries 20 minutes before you arrive -grr).

Frosting

1/3 cup pitted medjool dates, 1/4 cup agave syrup, 1/2 cup ripe avocado, and 1/3 cup cacao powder all blended in the food processor. (Again I used cocoa powder and because I don’t think my avocado was ripe enough to make it spreadable, I added just a bit of chocolate almond milk.)

The best. It was great getting together with friends to share tasty treats and the kids were so happy to have friends come to play. I am happy to have good people in my life and the lives of my kids.

The “regular” (read fabulous!) chocolate cake that I made for the kids and other guests was sooo tempting, but I was so glad to have something new and interesting and sweet to have instead to keep me on track to make it to the end of my 30 days. If I could make it past that, I think I can get past anything.

Leave a Reply

