Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Christmas in March

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 16, 2010

I was very excited when Jennifer from unplannedcooking.com invited me to join a networking group of blogging women at The Blog Pantry. I was also a bit nervous. I mean, I had seen some of the blogs that these ladies have put together and they all look so amazing. My curiosity won though and I decided I could learn some cool things and certainly meet some cool people and I love that! Then it was just a matter of figuring out HOW to make it happen. Eventually, a plan (in the form of a neighbor girl with homework and kids that were already in bed) came together and off I went. Late, but there.

Molly Herrmann from tastebudtart.com hosted the get together at Midtown Global Market (a favorite place of mine where you can find the best burrito in town along with many other fantastic things). The group got together in a restaurant there called A La Salsa. They were easy to spot… they all seemed to be as well put together as their blogs (I was glad I had a shower today and even put on some powder in the car). The ladies were all so warm and I got that feeling I had early in college when everything was new and when you would meet people, you’d ask “what’s your major?” (only tonight it was “what’s your topic?”). Maybe it seems silly, but it was really fun, exciting, and it was as good as I had hoped in so many ways. Plus, Molly had great goodies that she gave away to all of us at the end… love that too! I’ll be sporting my new Midtown Global Market t-shirt soon.

Day 26 – munchy

Breakfast – oatmeal with agave and almond milk

Early lunch – yummy pad thai and cantaloupe

Snack – go.raw ginger snaps, a bowl of toasted sesame pea pods, and dried apple

Dinner – 2 gf waffles with agave and berries

The good. I guess it is good to know that when I don’t have a snack in the morning with a later lunch, I am really hungry by mid-afternoon. I wanted to eat so much, I couldn’t decide what to eat… thus the random assortment of snack today. Though at least they were all pretty healthy. I can say when this has happened in the past, the choices weren’t so healthy.

The better. I was glad I remembered this recipe that I got from a book-club friend.

Toasted Sesame Pea Pods

32 ounces of sugar snap peas blanched for 1 minute and drained, then add 1/8 cup sesame oil, 1/4 cup sesame seeds, and 1 tablespoon kosher salt. May serve warm or chilled or make a smaller batch as I did today.

The best. The Blog Pantry event was the highlight of my day. I actually felt giddy about it. I love that feeling.

One of the other bloggers described the group as “inspiring” and I would concur. It helps me want to keep blogging and keep learning and keep experiencing all there is. I mean, there was this whole world happening there and I’m glad I got a peek in.

Leave a Reply

