Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Coming or Going

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 18, 2010

As I was driving to the gym this morning, I looked around at all the bare trees and brown-ness and thought of how cool the temperature is and I was thinking how if I just “dropped in” somehow, I might not really know whether it was fall or spring. And, since I was apparently feeling a bit philosophical today, I started thinking that, in some ways, I feel the same way about my weight. It is still not “ideal” and if you just took a snapshot today, you wouldn’t know if I was at this weight topping out or on my way to losing.

If you look closer outside, there are clues that it is spring and not fall. Small buds are trying their best to come out, the Vs of ducks and geese are flying north instead of south, and there are small fingers of ice that are melting off of the ponds. When I look closer at myself, I know that I am on my way to losing mostly because I feel so very much like I’ve just gone through my own “winter”. I feel spring, today I am spring.

Day 28 – dig

Breakfast – oatmeal with agave, almond milk, and berries

After-workout snack – almonds

Lunch – salsa (with a can of beans added for protein) with blue corn chips and cantaloupe

Dinner – Barcelona spinach and 2 Ani Phyo oatmeal raisin cookies

The good, the better, the best. When I lived in Barcelona, they sold this bag of frozen mixed veggies that I loved. It was just spinach and garbanzo beans, but I’d put it with rice and then some cream sauce that I can’t remember anymore since I’d given up on making it here. It may have even been something like a Campbell’s cream of mushroom soup or something. Anyway, I thought I’d give this a go, but didn’t know what I could use to “cream” it up. I heated some frozen spinach from Trader Joe’s (it was in a bag and not mashed into a box, so I could just get a cupful out) and added some garbanzo beans, then I put some pre-cooked brown rice in the pot to warm it all together. Then I tried some rice milk for a bit of cream. It turned out just fine and it did remind me of Barcelona, which made me smile.

I am glad to be leaving winter behind. I do know that there may still be flurries, like the ones forecasted for next week, and there may even be a blizzard, but I feel spring trying to come and that is good. So good.

2 Responses to 'Coming or Going'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Coming or Going'.


  1. Great post Michele! Thanks again for sharing your day with me. It always puts a smile on my face.

  2. Kim said,

    I like this post. Rather poetic.


Leave a Reply

