Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Smile

Posted in 30-day vegan cleanse by stuffsoup on March 20, 2010

Well, here we are at day 30 of the 30-day vegan cleanse. After I go to sleep tonight, I will have made it (because in theory, I could still raid the fridge or something) and I think, I’m better for it. The most frequent question I get is “Will you still be vegan after this is over?”. The short answer is no, but the longer answer is yes. I won’t strictly be following the diet that I have been doing for the last 30 days, but I will more frequently take other options, including vegan options. Most of the other questions have to do with how it has been, how I have felt, if I feel it was worth it, if I achieved what I wanted, if I’ll keep blogging, etc..

I have felt good. It has felt good to make healthy choices. My skin hasn’t been so dry which is a welcome thing during a Minnesota winter. I’ve been quite “regular” (if you know what I mean). I’ve lost weight. I didn’t get a chance to weigh in today, but as of two days ago, I had lost 6% of my weight and that feels good for only 30 days. There were many days that were hard, but I do think it was worth it. I wasn’t completely sure what to expect, so mostly what I wanted to achieve was just doing it and I’m glad I did and the weight loss was definitely the biggest “perk”. As for blogging, I would like to keep blogging if you’ll have me. The posts likely won’t be as frequent, but I enjoy the outlet and love connecting in this way.

I started out this journey blogging about “extreme learning” and I would have to say that I did learn a lot. I had a glimmer of what it is like to have a gluten allergy and how hard it can sometimes be to find good substitutes. I learned about some foods that I had never tried before. I learned about raw foods which is a whole other interesting concept. I learned some new recipes and I learned some new ways of thinking and looking at things.

Day 30 – last

Breakfast – gs apple with pb dip

Snack – Mrs. May’s Trio bar in cranberry

Lunch – oatmeal with agave, almond milk, and berries

Dinner – sichuan sauce over rice noodles and carrots plus just a little Good Karma (rice divine ice cream in very vanilla) for dessert

The good. New perspective on food.

The better. New recipes that will be added into my rotation.

The best. I did it!

As Dr. Seuss said, “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.” In some ways, I’ll actually miss this journey, it provided a good structure to learn some of the things I think I needed to learn. It will be good though to test my skills in a way that is more sustainable for me and my family. Thus that old proverb about every end being a new beginning is true… more challenges and more learning are yet to come, though I will definitely smile because it happened. 🙂

4 Responses to 'Smile'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Smile'.

  1. valerie said,

    congratulations! what a great accomplishment and i hope you keep blogging! 🙂

  2. Rachel said,

    And I smile because you’ve shared it with all of us! Great job Michele!

  3. Kim said,

    That Dr Seuss was a genius.

    I’m so proud of you for sticking with it 100%! And so happy that it was worth it! Congratulations!

  4. Connie Snow said,

    Way to go Michelle! Great job, good for you! Hugs!


Leave a Reply

