Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Giddy Up

Posted in Down syndrome by stuffsoup on April 10, 2010

Today I was giddy. For hours. Content, happy, engaged, excited, just… giddy. Today I attended the 2010 Regional Conference put on by the Down Syndrome Association of Minnesota (dsamn.org). I’ve gone every year it has been available since my daughter was born.

There are so many things that I love about it.

Firstly, it is held on a college campus with bonus free parking and doesn’t a college campus just feel like a place of learning and growing and experiencing all that life is? Just inside the doors starts the expo part and I LOVE expos. So many booths of people sharing information and excitement about their product or service… along with a trinket or a bit of candy for good measure. Then, to the registration table to see the smiling volunteers who seem so happy to see that you have arrived to partake in all that they have put together. Then, the keynote and other speakers and sessions where there is always a nugget of good information. I truly believe that everyone has a story and can teach us something or remind us of something we used to know. Finally, there is all of the participants… all of us brought together for the day because we all know someone with Down syndrome. Everyone on a part of this journey; be it a parent, grandparent, caregiver, sibling, teacher, therapist, or self advocate. Again, so many stories and so much humanity. I love that I know so many of these great people and I enjoyed meeting even more.

To me, any day spent learning – growing, living, experiencing new things, connecting, being reinvigorated, participating in something good – is a good day.

Leave a Reply

