Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


Sometimes the sibs have it

Posted in Down syndrome,parenting by stuffsoup on January 24, 2011

I have been asked what I think it might be like to be the sibling of a child with special needs. There are not only groups for the parents of children with special needs, there are also groups for siblings of children with special needs; so, it must be somehow different, right?

I think that some of the things these sib groups talk about is how sometimes it is hard to just be mad at your sibling without feeling guilty or how so much attention is diverted to the child that seems to need it most. Perhaps one day my son will have these dilemmas too, though I hope he knows it is ok to get mad at his sister and I hope he feels how much I love him too (and to be quite honest, he pulls his own attention quite often).

In the meantime, I can only opine about how I see the life of the sibling. I have to say that as his parent, I am amazed by him. Being the sibling of a child with special needs has actually seemed to bestow some additional awe upon him that he might otherwise not have received. As a parent of a child with special needs, you sometimes become hyper-aware of milestones and developmental stages and the bonus of that for a sibling is that the parent enjoys every, single, little step as they go whish-ing past them and on to the next thing. It is amazing to watch.

So, while I am truly amazed at my daughter as she tackles each next thing on the developmental checklist, I am also aware enough of those things to really be gobsmacked by my son as he keeps checking things off as well. So, at least for now, I’d say the sibling thing is really just great for both of them and I’m so glad they have each other and that I have them.

Hand in hand

2 Responses to 'Sometimes the sibs have it'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Sometimes the sibs have it'.

  1. Janet Linkert said,

    Well said, Michele! (and I know where that photo was taken!) 😉

  2. cristiana said,

    love it! It gives a great perspective about siblings, keep the great work. Always look forward to your articles


Leave a Reply

