Stuffsoup – a little blog with a lot of "stuff"


100 books, good reading or road?

Posted in parenting by stuffsoup on March 2, 2011

So, the project for “I like to read” month has come to a conclusion. My kids and I set out to read 100 books in the month of February. It went really well. I didn’t write down every book we read, but I did write down at least 100. I’m actually glad to have a number (I’m a geek, I like numbers) for how much we read. I wouldn’t have guessed quite that much, but it is good to  know that we’re getting in some good stuff.

Having so many fun books (old and new) around got pretty interesting too. The kids decided to make a “road” out of the books for monster trucks to drive on. The “road” got a bit rough on the “mountain” (otherwise known as the stairs) and was quite long, going into each of their bedrooms.

I liked how creative (and careful, since that’s a big rule) they were with the books as “material”. I also liked reading so many different books and spending time reviewing the coins and the math involved in the coin count.

It was a fun project to do and we got to a lot of fun books… from simple ones like “Hello, Puppy” to more lengthy tomes like “Cars and Trucks and Things That Go”.

We’re still working on what we’d like to do with our 100 coins. The brainstorming session involved dolls, puppies, mailboxes, and more.

Did you get some reading done last month? What would you do with 100 coins?

One Response to '100 books, good reading or road?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '100 books, good reading or road?'.

  1. Deanna said,

    I vote for puppies. That’s definitely what I would spend 100 coins on! Maybe a mailbox with a puppy on it?


Leave a Reply

